top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCandice Ryan

Kingdom of Sea and Stone ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️




Book Synopsis from Amazon:


Ever since Nor was forced to go to a nearby kingdom in her sister’s place, she’s wanted nothing more than to return to the place and people she loves. But when her wish comes true, she soon finds herself cast out from both worlds, with a war on the horizon.


As an old enemy resurfaces more powerful than ever, Nor will have to keep the kingdom from falling apart with the help of Prince Talin and Nor’s twin sister, Zadie. There are forces within the world more mysterious than any of them ever guessed—and they’ll need to stay alive long enough to conquer them…


Review:


Well I started this book thinking “I’ll just read a few chapters before bed.” At 1 am I finished the last page. Oops.


I again was swept away into this captivating story. Nor have gone through so much already, and yet there is so much more she has to endure. Trying to figure out what she really wants out of life, she questions things she thought she was certain of. She travels to new lands, meets people with vastly different ways of life than she is accustomed to. Nor is left wondering what else does the world have to offer. Where does this leave her with Prince Talin? My heart was bursting with anticipation as she dealt with these feelings, and tried to reconcile them against her feelings for Talin.


I absolutely loved her sister Zadie’s character development in this book. How she evolved from the “do exactly as I’m told”, meek personality to the fierce bold attitude of whatever it takes to do what is right. It’s a complete turnaround from the first book and I loved every second of it.


Than there’s Prince Ceren. Thought to be dead only to come to find out he survived, and has come back dare I say worse than before. You can’t help but still feel bad for him as you get a glimpse into his past through memories. It’s heartbreaking to see a child neglected, looked down upon, and even treated cruelly. It almost seems as though how could he have turned out any different. However, he can’t let the past go and see beyond it to the people that would care for him and love him. Instead he lets the past fester into an evil that hardens his heart.


I loved every heart pounding twist and turn this emotional roller coaster of a book led me on. I was super happy with how the story concluded and wrapped all the loss ends up. It was the perfect ending to a much adored duology.



Playlist:


For me the recurring theme around the beginning of this book was fight. Fighting to get the help they needed. Fighting through doubts and fears. Fighting for her family.

Fight Song by Rachel Platten


Lyrics:


Like a small boat On the ocean Sending big waves Into motion Like how a single word Can make a heart open I might only have one match But I can make an explosion

And all those things I didn't say Wrecking balls inside my brain I will scream them loud tonight Can you hear my voice this time?

This is my fight song Take back my life song Prove I'm alright song My power's turned on Starting right now I'll be strong I'll play my fight song And I don't really care if nobody else believes 'Cause I've still got a lot of fight left in me

Losing friends and I'm chasing sleep Everybody's worried about me In too deep Say I'm in too deep (in too deep) And it's been two years I miss my home But there's a fire burning in my bones Still believe Yeah, I still believe

And all those things I didn't say Wrecking balls inside my brain I will scream them loud tonight Can you hear my voice this time?

This is my fight song Take back my life song Prove I'm alright song My power's turned on Starting right now I'll be strong I'll play my fight song And I don't really care if nobody else believes 'Cause I've still got a lot of fight left in me

A lot of fight left in me

Like a small boat On the ocean Sending big waves Into motion Like how a single word Can make a heart open I might only have one match But I can make an explosion

This is my fight song Take back my life song Prove I'm alright song My power's turned on Starting right now I'll be strong (I'll be strong) I'll play my fight song And I don't really care if nobody else believes 'Cause I've still got a lot of fight left in me

Know I've still got a lot of fight left in me


The Second half of the book was more this is what I’m meant to do and what I’m supposed to do. I am not sure where the road will lead after, but she’s willing to do whatever it takes and sacrifice herself for her family.


Battleborn by Five Finger Death Punch



Once upon a time I swore I had a heart Long before the world I know tore it all apart Once upon a time there was a part of me I shared Years before they took away the part of me that cared

I've been a thousand places And shook a million hands I don't know where I'm going But I know just where I've been

I've flown a million miles And I've rode so many more Every day, a castaway A vagabond, battle born I'm battle born

Once upon a time I had an open point of view That was just so long ago before I had a clue Was there such a time where I didn't stand alone? Was there ever a time, and how would I have known?

I've been a thousand places And shook a million hands I don't know where I'm going But I know just where I've been

I've flown a million miles And I've rode so many more Every day, a castaway A vagabond, battle born

Attention all passengers, flight 555 now departing to Las Vegas to London Please have your passports and boarding passes ready

I've been a thousand places And shook a million hands I don't know where I'm going But I know just where I've been

I've flown a million miles And I've rode so many more Every day, a castaway A vagabond, battle born

Been a thousand places And shook a million hands (battle born) I don't know where I'm going But I know just where I've been (battle born)

I've flown a million miles And I've rode so many more Every day, a castaway A vagabond, battle born I'm battle born

I'm battle born

Every day, a castaway A vagabond, battle born

Battle born









Purchase Links





Book Depository


Indigo


Author Links




Giveaway Link









15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page